Institute of Computer Architecture and Computer Engineering

Our special competencies are: Secure and Reliable Circuits and Systems; Design Methodology and Automation; Emerging Architectures; Hardware-software Co-design; Machine Learning for Computer-Aided Design and Emerging Nanotechnologies for Beyond CMOS

Things to know about ITI

ITI‘s five departments cover the whole breadth of Computer Engineering. Its special competencies are in the following areas: Secure and Reliable Circuits and Systems; Design Methodology and Design Automation; Novel Circuit and System Architectures; Hardware-software Co-design; Machine Learning for Computer-Aided Design and Emerging Nanotechnologies for Beyond CMOS. The Institute is open to cooperation with the industry and with other scientists.

 

Hardware Oriented Computer Science (HOCOS),
Prof. Dr. rer. nat. habil. Ilia Polian

Prof. Dr. rer. nat. habil. Ilia PolianThe Chair of Hardware-oriented Computer Science develops circuit and system architectures based on traditional and on emerging principles, including neuromorphic, stochastic and approximate architectures. Our second area is the systematic design methodology and design automation, with a strong focus on security and reliability. The Chair covers the mentioned topics in research and in teaching. Our members are present in the top conferences of these areas, and we are collaborating with outstanding international scientists. With regard to teaching, we are offering introductory courses in the Bachelor program Computer Science, several advanced lectures in different Master programs, seminars and practical lab courses. We are looking forward to cooperation with partners from industry, academia and other public organizations; please contact us if interested! We are also offering interesting Master and Bachelor thesis topics, projects and research- and teaching-assistance opportunities.

Chair of Hardware Oriented Computer Science: HOCOS

 

 

Computational Imaging Systems (CIS),
Prof. Dr.-Ing. Sven Simon

Prof. Dr. Ing. Sven SimonThe Department of Computational Imaging Systems is focused on 3D imaging and image processing, 3D computed tomography and imaging sensor technology. The algorithms of these topics are implemented in parallel in software using OpenCL for GPUs and for multi-core CPUs.In the area of imaging sensing, hardware architectures using the modeling language VHDL for FPGAs are developed and investigated.The area of algorithms for computational imaging is highly data-intensive, especially in 3D, and requires data science methods such as deep neural networks (deep learning), novel compression techniques, and intelligent methods of image processing including hardware acceleration using GPUs or FPGAs.In the field of computed tomography, algorithms for improved 3D imaging and 3D image processing as well as their application in the natural sciences (e.g. physics) and engineering sciences (mechanical engineering, civil engineering, electrical engineering) are of particular interest. One example is the non-contact and non-destructive extraction of electromagnetic simulation models from 3D computed tomography data of inaccessible structures in the packaging of electronic systems (examples: IC packages, 3D integration).If you are interested, we will be happy to discuss the possibilities of 3D imaging and will use our in-house computed tomography system for your modeling needs (email: info@cis.iti.uni-stuttgart.de).

For students we offer interesting bachelor, master as well as research work including specialized studies, StuPros or student assistant jobs (HIWI, email: stud@cis.iti.uni-stuttgart.de).If you simply want to analyze an object of your choice with a 3D volume data model or generate an enlarged copy by 3D printing, we are able to generate such a model with our computer tomography.Just contact us for this purpose.Furthermore, we are happy to support startups (e.g.mentoring for students and graduates in the Exist funding programs) in our areas of expertise, such as the now very successful, internationally active company Synapticon.

Chair of Computational Imaging Systems: CIS

Embedded Systems (ES),
Prof. Dr.-Ing. Martin Radetzki

The Chair of Embedded Systems is concerned with architectures and design methods for hardware/software systems in technical applications. It pursues research in modelling and simulation of such systems as well as system optimization considering tradeoffs between cost, performance, energy and robustness.

 

Chair of Embedded Systems: ES

 

 

 

Semiconductor Test and Reliability (STAR)
Jun.-Prof. Dr.-Ing. Hussam Amrouch

Jun.-Prof. Dr. Ing. Hussam AmrouchThe Chair of Semiconductor Test and Reliability is devoted to research in Machine Learning for Computer-Aided Design (MLCAD) with a primarily focus on design for reliability and design for testing in cutting-edge nanotechnologies. Our work covers both advanced sub-10nm technologies such as nanowires and nanosheets transistors as well as emerging technologies such as negative capacitance transistors and ferroelectric transistors for future ultra-low power circuits and memories. In addition, we develop different novel techniques to increase the reliability and efficiency of neural processing units, which are essential for all applications of artificial intelligence.

We are in close collaboration with several leading industry and universities worldwide. Our research efforts are spread across the entire computing stack starting from semiconductor device physics to digital/analog circuit design all the way up to system-level management with the key goal of investigating how machine learning methods can be employed to reshape the future of System-on-Chip (SoC) design.

For students from both Electrical Engineer and Computer Science, we offer several exciting Master and Bachelor thesis topics as well as a wide range of opportunities for research- and teaching-assistance. If you are curious and interested in how future computing looks like and which new challenges the upcoming technologies bring, please contact us.

Chair of Semiconductor Test and Reliability STAR

Computer Architecture (CA),
Prof. Dr. rer. nat. habil. Hans-Joachim Wunderlich (i. R.)

Prof. Dr. rer. nat. habil. Hans-Joachim WunderlichResearch efforts within the Research Group of Computer Architecture pay special attention to topics related to test, reliability and fault tolerance of digital systems as well as innovative architectures for approximative and heterogeneous computing. A part of our work is done in cooperation with various partners coming both from national and international universities and from industry. Master theses address current research of the group, possibly also at the partners' sites.

 

Research Group of Computer Architecture: CA

 

 

Contact

This image shows Ilia Polian

Ilia Polian

Prof. Dr. rer. nat. habil.

Head of Institute and Chair of Hardware Oriented Computer Science

To the top of the page

Testbild 1

Institut für Technische Informatik

Unsere Kompetenzfelder sind sichere und zuverlässige Schaltungen und Systeme, Entwurfsmethodik und -automatisierung, neuartige Systeme wie, Computational Imaging Systemes oder Embedded Systems sowie Hardware-Architekturen und Hardware/Software Co-Design.

Das ITI stellt sich vor

Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter des Instituts

Die fünf Abteilungen des ITI decken das Gebiet der Technischen Informatik in seiner ganzen Breite ab. Die Kompetenzen des ITI liegen in den Bereichen sichere und zuverlässige Schaltungen und Systeme, Entwurfsmethodik und -automatisierung, neuartige Schaltungs- und Systemarchitekturen, Hardware/Software-Codesign. Das Institut ist offen für interdisziplinäre Kooperationen mit anderen Wissenschaftlern und Forschungsinstituten sowie für Industriekooperationen.

Hardwareorientierte Informatik (HOCOS),
Prof. Dr. rer. nat. habil. Ilia Polian

Prof. Dr. rer. nat. habil. Ilia PolianIn der Abteilung Hardwareorientierte Informatik werden Schaltungs- und Systemarchitekturen entwickelt, die sowohl auf traditionellen als auch auf neuartigen Prinzipien basieren. Zu nennen sind neuromorphische, stochastische und approximative Architekturen. Unser zweites Betätigungsfeld ist die systematische Entwurfsmethodik und Entwurfsautomatisierung. Hier liegt unser besonderer Fokus auf Sicherheits- und Zuverlässigkeitseigenschaften der entwickelten Systeme. Die Abteilung vertritt die genannten Inhalte in Forschung und Lehre. Sie ist auf den Top-Konferenzen dieser Gebiete präsent und arbeitet mit internationalen Spitzenwissenschaftlern zusammen. In der Lehre werden Grundlagenvorlesungen im Bachelor-Studiengang Informatik, eine Reihe von weiterführenden Vorlesungen in den Master-Studiengängen, Seminare und Praktika angeboten. Wir freuen uns auf Kooperationen mit Partnern aus der Industrie, aus akademischen und sonstigen öffentlichen Einrichtungen; nehmen Sie bei Interesse Kontakt mit uns auf! Für Studierende der Universität Stuttgart bieten wir interessante Abschluss- und Projektarbeiten sowie Hilfskrafts-Tätigkeiten an.

Zum Lehrstuhl Hardwareorientierte Informatik: HOCOS

 

 

Computational Imaging Systems (CIS),
Prof. Dr.-Ing. Sven Simon

Prof. Dr. Ing. Sven SimonDie Abteilung Computational Imaging Systems befasst sich mit 3D-Imaging und Image Processing, mit der 3D-Computertomographie und der bildgebenden Sensorik. Die Algorithmen dieser Themenbereiche werden parallel in Software mittels OpenCL für GPUs und für Multi-Core-CPUs implementiert. Im Bereich der bildgebenden Sensorik werden Hardware-Architekturen mit der Modellierungssprache VHDL für FPGAs entwickelt und erforscht. Der Bereich der Algorithmen für Computational Imaging ist insbesondere in 3D außerordentlich datenintensiv und erfordert Data-Science-Methoden wie tiefe neuronale Netze (Deep Learning), neuartige Kompressionsverfahren sowie intelligente Methoden der Bildverarbeitung inklusive Hardware-Beschleunigung mittels GPUs oder FPGAs. Im Bereich der  Computertomographie sind insbesondere die Algorithmen zur verbesserten 3D-Bildgebung und 3D-Bildverarbeitung sowie deren Einsatz in den Naturwissenschaften (z.B. Physik) und den Ingenieurwissenschaften (Maschinenbau, Bauingenieurwesen, Elektrotechnik) von Interesse. Ein Beispiel ist die berührungslose und zerstörungsfreie Extraktion elektromagnetischer Simulationsmodelle aus den 3D-Computertomographie-Daten unzugänglicher Strukturen der Aufbau- und Verbindungstechnik elektronischer Systeme (Beispiele: IC-Gehäuse, 3D-Integration). Bei Interesse stehen wir gerne für ein Gespräch zu den Möglichkeiten der 3D-Bildgebung zur Verfügung und setzen gerne unseren abteilungseigenen Computertomographen für Ihre Fragestellung in der Modellbildung ein (Email: info@cis.iti.uni-stuttgart.de).

Für Studierende bieten wir interessante Bachelor, Master- sowie Forschungs-Arbeiten inklusive Fachstudien, StuPros  oder Hilfskraft-Tätigkeiten an (Email: stud@cis.iti.uni-stuttgart.de). Wenn Sie einfach mal ein Objekt Ihrer Wahl mit einem 3D-Volumendatenmodell analysieren oder eine vergrößerte Kopie mittels 3D-Druck erzeugen wollen, generieren  wir gerne ein solches Modell mit unserem Computertomographen. Sprechen Sie uns dazu einfach an. Weiterhin unterstützen wir gerne Startups (z.B. Mentoring für Studierende und Absolventen in den Exist-Föderprogrammen) in unseren Themenbereichen wie das inzwischen sehr erfolgreiche, international agierende Unternehmen Synapticon.

Zum Lehrstuhl Computational Imaging Systems: CIS

Eingebettete Systeme (ES),
Prof. Dr.-Ing. Martin Radetzki

Die Abteilung Eingebettete Systeme befasst sich mit Architekturen und Entwurfsmethoden für Hardware-Software-Systeme in technischen Anwendungen. Es bestehen Forschungsschwerpunkte in der Modellbildung und Simulation solcher Systeme und der Optimierung der Systemstrukturen unter Abwägung von Kosten, Performanz, Energiebedarf und Robustheit.

 

Zum Lehrstuhl Eingebettete Systeme: ES

 

 

 

Test und Diagnose von Halbleitersystemen (STAR),
Jun.-Prof. Dr.-Ing. Hussam Amrouch

Jun.-Prof. Dr. Ing. Hussam AmrouchDie Abteilung Test und Diagnose von Halbleitersystemen befasst sich primär mit maschinellem Lernen für computergestützte Entwürfe (MLCAD). Der Fokus liegt dabei auf dem Entwurf von testbaren und zuverlässigen Schaltungen. Bei den Entwürfen decken wir aktuelle Nanotechnologien wie FinFET, aufkommenden Technologien wie Nanosheets, sowie Zukunftstechnologien wie Negative Capacitance und Ferroelectric Transistoren für ultra-low power Schaltkreise und Speicher ab. Weiterhin erforschen wir verschiedene neue Techniken zum die Zuverlässigkeit und Effizient von Beschleunigern von neuronalen Netzen, welche essenziell für alle KI Anwendungen sind, zu verbessern.

Wir arbeiten eng mit nationalen und internationalen Partnern aus Industrie und Akademie zusammen. Unsere Forschung verteilt sich über alle Abstraktionsebenen, angefangen bei Halbleiterphysik über analog/digitalen Schaltungsentwurf bis hin zu Management auf Systemebene. Das Ziel unserer Forschung ist die Neugestaltung zuküftiger System-On-Chip Entwurfsmethoden durch den Einsatz maschinellen Lernens.

Für Studierende der Elektrotechnik und Informatik bieten wir verschiedene intressante und spannende Bachelor sowie Masterarbeiten an. Weiterhin suchen wir jederzeit Tutoren und studentische Hilfskräfte. Wenn Sie das begeistert und Sie sehen möchten, wie die Zukunft der Computer aussieht und welche neuen Herausforderungen diese Zukunftstechnologien bieten, kontaktieren Sie uns.

Zum Lehrstuhl Test und Diagnose von Halbleitersystemen: STAR

Rechnerarchitektur (RA),
Prof. Dr. rer. nat. habil. Hans-Joachim Wunderlich (i. R.)

Prof. Dr. rer. nat. habil. Hans-Joachim WunderlichDie Forschungsgruppe Rechnerarchitektur hat ihren besonderen Schwerpunkt in Entwurfs- und Testmethoden sowie Hardwarestrukturen, mit denen hohe Anforderungen an Zuverlässigkeit, Sicherheit und Korrektheit digitaler Systeme erfüllt werden können. Innovative Ansätze wie approximative und heterogene Rechnerarchitekturen und Fehlertoleranz über alle Systemebenen hinweg werden in grundlagenorientierten Drittmittelprojekten bearbeitet. Ein großer Teil der Forschungsarbeiten erfolgt in enger Kooperation mit nationalen und internationalen Partnern aus Universitäten, Forschungseinrichtungen und der Industrie. Abschlussarbeiten in dieser Abteilung beziehen sich auf ihre aktuellen Forschungen zum Teil in Zusammenarbeit mit den Kooperationspartnern.

Zur Forschungsgruppe Rechnerarchitektur: RA

 

 

Ihr Ansprechpartner

Dieses Bild zeigt Ilia Polian

Ilia Polian

Prof. Dr. rer. nat. habil.

Institutsleiter und Lehrstuhlinhaber Hardwareorientierte Informatik

Zum Seitenanfang